MPP Kathryn McGarry, Dayle Laing, Kevin Montgomery

Ontario Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry Kathryn McGarry (MPP-Cambridge), Dayle and Kevin chat at Ontario Bike Summit 2017. Minister McGarry cycled in Bike the Creek last year.

OBS 2017

The theme for Share the Road’s OBS 2017 is “Just Add Bikes”. Indeed, it does not really need to be more complicated than that! Keynote speaker Todd Scott from Detroit Greenways Coalition said:

“Protected bike lanes are the minimum.”

With a city on the verge of bankruptcy, 68% unemployment, average annual salary around $24,000, Detroit went from 72 miles to 200 miles of bike lanes in a short space of time. Detroit has 50 bike clubs! They put in ‘pop-up’ bike lanes and pedestrian plazas and then count the useage. They are even putting in a bike lane on the new Gordie Howe International Bridge to connect Detroit and Windsor!

Glen Murray, Kathryn McGarry, Eleanor McMahon OBS

Ontario Bike Summit was well supported by the Ontario Government, including MPPs from the All-Party Cycling Committee. In attendance were:  Minister of Environment and Climate Change Glen Murray, Minister of Natural Resources and Forestry Kathryn McGarry and Minister of Tourism Culture and Sport Eleanor McMahon.

Also receiving Bronze awards were Belleville, Collingwood, Cambridge, Ingersoll, Kingston, Cornwall, St. Thomas, Temiskaming Shores and Whitby. We offer congratulations to these other communities. Currently 68% of Ontarions live in Bicycle Friendly Communities! Brampton is in good company!