Bicycle Friendly Communities


“The Bicycle Friendly Community Award (BFC) Program was launched by the Share the Road Cycling Coalition in Canada in August 2010 in partnership with the Washington based League of American Bicyclists. The BFC Program provides incentives, hands-on assistance, and award recognition for communities that actively support bicycling.”

bike friendly community logo

“Communities complete a thorough application and are judged in five categories often referred to as the Five ‘Es’. A community must demonstrate achievements in each of the five categories in order to be considered for an award on the Bronze, Silver, Gold or Platinum level.”

The 5 ‘E’ Categories of a Bicycle Friendly Community:

ENGINEERING – Communities are asked about what is on the ground; what has been built to promote cycling in the community

EDUCATION- The questions in this category are designed to determine the amount of education there is available for both cyclists and motorists

ENCOURAGEMENT – Questions concentrate on how the community promotes and encourages bicycling

ENFORCEMENT – The enforcement category contains questions that measure the connections between the cycling and law enforcement communities

EVALUATION & PLANNING – Here the community is judged on the systems that they have in place to evaluate current programs and plan for the future

The Brampton Bicycling Advisory Committee encourages and supports Brampton in its efforts to apply for, and be designated a “Bicycle  Friendly Community“. In 2013, the City of Brampton applied and received  “Honourable Mention”. We continue to advocate for reapplication and  the award of a designation in 2017!

Map of Bicycle Friendly Communities in Ontario – As of spring 2017, there are now 36 Bicycle Friendly Communities in Ontario, representing more than 62% of Ontario’s population.


  • Ottawa
  • Toronto


  • The Town of Blue Mountains
  • Burlington (Moved up from Bronze in 2016)
  • Guelph
  • Hamilton
  • Kitchener
  • Pelham
  • Peterborough
  • Waterloo


  • Ajax
  • Cambridge (New in 2016)
  • Collingwood (New in 2016)
  • Cornwall (New in 2016)
  • Grimsby
  • Halton Hills
  • London
  • Kingston
  • Markham
  • Milton
  • Mississauga
  • Mississippi Mills (New in 2016)
  • Newmarket
  • Niagara Falls (New in 2016)
  • Oakville
  • Oshawa
  • Richmond Hill
  • St. Catharine’s
  • Temiskaming Shores (New in 2016)
  • Thorold
  • Thunder Bay
  • Wasaga Beach
  • Welland
  • Whitby (New in 2016)
  • Windsor



%d bloggers like this: